

In the Beginning

The Early Music Society of Queensland was founded in 1974. The initiative was from Geoff Wills who was the president for many years, together with Senator George Georges who became the patron of the Society.

At the first meeting on Sunday 30 June 1974 twenty people gathered to address the need for an organisation to popularise and improve early music in Queensland. Those present at the meeting were Spencer & Robin Faulkner, Kathryn Teakle, John Watson, Arthur Creedy, Doug Eaton, Bob & Sue Booth, John Manifold, Mary Fraser, Michael O'Loghlin, Gwen Humphreys, Marianne Ehrhardt, Theresa Penna, Geoffrey Wills, Senator & Mrs Georges, Hec and Norma Chalmers and Arthur Georges.

An interim committee including Geoff Wills, Michael O'Loghlin, Spencer Faulkner, Marianne Ehrhardt and George Georges was appointed to call a public recital and meeting with a view to forming the Queensland Early Music Society. Arthur Creedy offered assistance in preparing a constitution and statement of aims. This interim committee met on 7 July 1974 and agreed on their aims.

In 2024 an afternoon tea and concert was held to mark the society's 50th anniversary. Founding members who could be contacted were recognised with certificates and gifts. In addition three radio programs covering the fifty years were compiled by Jennifer Beale and broadcast on 4MBS Classic FM during the year.

